Shared Blogs

One of the ways you might be sharing work with other writers is by sharing blogs. If another writer has shared a blog with you, you can find it by clicking the "Blogs" tab or link on your personal page. This will open a section that lists all the blogs you've created, as well as the blogs shared with you and those you've shared with other writers.

Viewing Your Shared Blogs

The writers listed in the "Writers Who Have Shared Their Blogs with You" section have given you access to view and comment on their blogs. Clicking on the writer or blog title link takes you to their Personal Page, where you can link to their blog or remove your access to their blog.

Writers Who Have Shared Blogs With You

If you have given this same writer access to one of your blogs, this will also show up on their Personal Page, and you can even remove their access to your blog by clicking on the red "x" to the right of your blog title.

The Personal Page

To share a blog with another writer, open the Blog Tool. This will list all of your current blogs. From this Blogs main page, click on the title of the blog you want to share.

The Blogs Tool

From the blog's main page, select the "Manage this Blog" entry from the main options menu.

Managing Your Blog

From this main blog management page, select the "Advanced Options Tab" and then the "Control Who Can View This Blog" link.

Control Who Can View Your Blog

The resulting page lists all of the publication and shared access options. These options are publish, share with classes, share with wikis, and share with writers.

Publishing and Sharing Options

The "Published" status is either "yes" or "no." Selecting "yes" will publish the blog on the Writing@CSU public blogs page, where any Writing Studio user could read it.

Publishing Your Blog

The Shared with Classes option allows you to share your blog with a whole class (or classes). Click on the "manage" link next to Shared with Classes, and you will be taken to a page which lists all of your classes, your blog's shared status in relation to each class (shared or not shared), and a link that allows you to update the shared status. Simply select the "Share with the Class" link next to the class or classes with which you want to share this blog. To stop sharing a blog with a class, select the "Remove from this Class" link next to the appropriate class.

Publishing to a Class

The Shared with Wikis option allows you share your blog with a whole wiki (or wikis). Click on the "manage" link next to Shared with Wikis and you will be taken to a page which lists all of your Wikis, your blog's shared status in relation to each Wiki (shared or not shared), and a link that allows you to update the shared status. Simply select the "Share with the Wiki" link next to the wiki or wikis with which you want to share this blog. To stop sharing a blog with a wiki, select the "Remove from this Wiki" link next to the appropriate Wiki.

Publishing to a Wiki

Publishing to a Wiki

The Shared with Writers option allows you to share your blog with any writer (or writers) who has a Writing Studio account. Click on the "manage" link next to the Shared with Writers heading.

Sharing With a Specific Individual

This takes you to a page where you can search for writers (using wildcard, exact, and partial searches) with whom to share your Blog. Enter a name or email address and click the search button, and your search results are displayed at the bottom of the page.

Searching For Writers

When you find a writer you want to share your blog with, simply click the "Share" link next to their email address.

Selecting a Writer

The page will reload with that writer now displaying in the list of "Writer's with Access to the 'X' Blog." That writer will also be sent an email from the Writing Studio alerting them that they've been given access to read and comment on your blog.

Writer Added

To remove a writer's access to your blog, you can link to their Personal Page from your "Writers with Whom You Have Shared Your Blogs" area, and remove their access by clicking on the red "x" to the right of your blog title.

Removing Individual Access

OR, you can select the "manage" link next to the "Shared with Writers" heading on the Share Your Blog main management page, and select the "Remove" link to the right of that writer's name on your "Writer's with Access to the 'X' Blog" list.

Removing Individual Access

Removing Individual Access